Colorado Counties
Colorado County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Colorado Counties

Colorado currently has sixty-four counties. In February 1866, the first new county, Las Animas, was created. Alamosa was created in 1913, and in 2001, Broomfield was recognized as a city-county, bringing a total of 64 counties.

Kit Carson County, Colorado

Kit Carson County Education, Geography, and HistoryKit Carson County, Colorado Courthouse

Kit Carson County is one of the 64 counties in the state of Colorado. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 8,270. The county seat is Burlington. The county was created in 1889 and named for American frontiersman and Indian fighter Kit Carson.

Etymology - Origin of Kit Carson County Name

Kit Carson County is named in honor of Christopher Houston (Kit) Carson, the famous frontier scout and soldier.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Kit Carson County History

Kit Carson County was created  April 11,1889 from Elbert County. County seat: Burlington

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,162 square miles (5,598 km2), of which, 2,161 square miles (5,597 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (2 km2) of it (0.03%) is water.

Kit Carson County is located on the I-70 corridor in East Central Colorado at the Kansas border. The Smoky Hill Trail is located in Kit Carson county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Yuma County
  • Northeast: Cheyenne County, Kan.
  • East: Sherman County, Kan.
  • Southeast: Wallace County, Kan.
  • South: Cheyenne County
  • Southwest: Lincoln County
  • Northwest: Washington County


Colorado Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge