Connecticut Counties
Connecticut County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Connecticut Counties

There are currently eight Counties in Connecticut. Four of them were originally created in 1666, during the first consolidation of the colony of Connecticut.  Middlesex and Tolland counties, have been created since American independence, both in 1785.

Tolland County, Connecticut

Tolland County Education, Geography, and HistoryTolland County, Connecticut Courthouse

Tolland County is a county located in the northeastern part of the state of Connecticut. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 152,691.  Tolland County was created on October 13, 1785 and was formed from Windham County. The County Seat was Tolland (1785-1889) and Rockville (1889-1960). The county is named after Tolland, Somerset, England.
Tolland County is included in the Hartford-West Hartford-East Hartford, CT Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Tolland County Name

The county is named after Tolland, Somerset, England.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Tolland County History

Tolland County is located in northeastern Connecticut, bordered on the east by Windham County, to the north by Massachusetts, on the west by Hartford County, and to the south by New London County. Connecticut's youngest county.

Geography: Land and Water

Tolland county is located in northeast Connecticut. The total land area covered by Tolland County is 410 square miles, it is the second smallest in land mass.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Worcester County, Mass.
  • East: Windham County
  • Southeast: New London County
  • West: Hartford County
  • Northwest: Hampden County, Mass.


Connecticut Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge