Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Idaho Counties
There are44 Counties in Idaho.
Counties are the largest political divisions within the state.

When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state 27 years later, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former Counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many Counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Bannock County, Idaho

Bannock County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Pocatello
Year Organized: 1893
Square Miles: 1,113
Court House:

624 E. Center Street
County Courthouse
Pocatello, ID 83201-6274

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Bannock County is named for the Bannock Native American tribe.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Established March 6, 1893 from part of Bingham County, with its county seat at Pocatello. Named for the Bannock Indians, the first inhabitants of the area, whose name was spelled Bannock by early settlers.

Neighboring Counties:

  • North: Bingham County
  • East: Caribou County
  • Southeast: Franklin County
  • Southwest: Oneida County
  • West: Power County

Cities and Towns:

- Arimo city Incorporated Area
- Chubbuck city Incorporated Area
- Downey city Incorporated Area
- Inkom city Incorporated Area
- Lava Hot Springs city Incorporated Area
- McCammon city Incorporated Area
- Pocatello (County Seat) city Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"