Career College Search

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Minnesota Counties

There are eighty-seven Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Lac Qui Parle County, Minnesota

Lac Qui Parle County Education, Geography, and HistoryLac Qui Parle County, Minnesota Courthouse

Lac qui Parle County is a county located in the state of Minnesota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 7,259. Its county seat is Madison. The name of the county is French for "lake which talks".

Etymology - Origin of Lac Qui Parle County Name

Named for Lac qui Parle Lake. Lac qui Parle is French meaning "the lake that talks", a translation of the Dakota name for the lake, Mdeiyedan.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lac Qui Parle County History

Lac qui Parle County was created on November 7, 1871 (Organized in 1873) from Redwood County. The county was named for Lac qui Parle Lake. Lac qui Parle is French meaning "the lake that talks", a translation of the Dakota name for the lake, Mdeiyedan.

The County Seat is located in Madison and the county government

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 778 square miles (2,020 km2), of which 765 square miles (1,980 km2) is land and 13 square miles (34 km2) (1.7%) is water. The county's northern boundary is defined by the Minnesota River; two of its tributaries, the Lac qui Parle River and the Yellow Bank River, also flow through the county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Big Stone County, Minnesota (north)
  • Swift County, Minnesota (northeast)
  • Chippewa County, Minnesota (east)
  • Yellow Medicine County, Minnesota (south)
  • Deuel County, South Dakota (southwest)
  • Grant County, South Dakota (northwest)


Minnesota Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..
Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer