Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Jefferson County, Montana

Jefferson County Education, Geography, and HistoryJefferson County, Montana Courthouse

Jefferson County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 11,406. Its county seat is Boulder. The county was created in 1865 and named for President Thomas Jefferson.

Jefferson County is part of the Helena, MT Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Jefferson County Name

Thomas Jefferson, the third President of the United States


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Jefferson County History

Jefferson County was created 2 February 1865 as an original county. County seat: Boulder

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,659 miles (2,670 km). Of this total, 1,657 miles (2,667 km) of it is land, and 2 square miles (5.2 km2) of it (0.13%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Lewis and Clark County, Montana - north
  • Broadwater County, Montana - east
  • Gallatin County, Montana - southeast
  • Madison County, Montana - south
  • Silver Bow County, Montana - west
  • Deer Lodge County, Montana - west
  • Powell County, Montana - northwest


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge