Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Stillwater County, Montana

Stillwater County Education, Geography, and HistoryStillwater County, Montana Courthouse

Stillwater County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,117. Its county seat is Columbus

Etymology - Origin of County Stillwater Name

Stillwater River, named for its very slow current


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Stillwater County History

Stillwater County was created 24 March 1913 from Sweet Grass, Yellowstone, and Carbon Counties. County seat: Columbus

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,805 square miles (4,674 km2), of which, 1,795 square miles (4,649 km2) of it is land and 10 square miles (25 km2) of it (0.53%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Golden Valley County, Montana - north
  • Yellowstone County, Montana - east
  • Carbon County, Montana - south
  • Park County, Montana - southwest
  • Sweet Grass County, Montana - west


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge