Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

 County, Montana

Sweet Grass County Education, Geography, and HistorySweet Grass County, Montana Courthouse

Sweet Grass County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 3,651. Its county seat is Big Timber. The county was founded in 1895

Etymology - Origin of Sweet Grass County Name

The abundant sweet grass in the county


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Sweet Grass County History

Sweet Grass County was created 5 March 1895 from Meagher, Park, and Yellowstone Counties. County seat: Big Timber

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,862 square miles (4,823 km2), of which, 1,855 square miles (4,805 km2) of it is land and 7 square miles (18 km2) of it (0.37%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Wheatland County, Montana - north
  • Golden Valley County, Montana - northeast
  • Stillwater County, Montana - east
  • Park County, Montana - south & west
  • Meagher County, Montana - northwest


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge