Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Treasure County, Montana

Treasure County Education, Geography, and HistoryTreasure County, Montana Courthouse

Treasure County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 718, making it the second-least populous county in Montana. Its county seat is Hysham. The county was founded in 1919.

Etymology - Origin of Treasure County Name

Named promotionally to attract new settlers


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Treasure County History

Treasure County was created 7 February 1919 from Rosebud County. County seat: Hysham

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 984 square miles (2,549 km2), of which, 979 square miles (2,535 km2) of it is land and 5 square miles (14 km2) of it (0.53%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Rosebud County, Montana - north & east
  • Big Horn County, Montana - south
  • Yellowstone County, Montana - west


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge