Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Valley County, Montana

Valley County Education, Geography, and HistoryValley County, Montana Courthouse

Valley County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 7,369. Its county seat is Glasgow. It is across the Canadian border with Saskatchewan.

Etymology - Origin of Valley County Name

Much of the county lies within the valley of the Milk River


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Valley County History

Valley County was created 6 February 1893 from Dawson County. County seat: Glasgow

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 5,062 square miles (13,110 km2), of which, 4,921 square miles (12,745 km2) of it is land and 141 square miles (365 km2) of it is water. The total area is 2.79% water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Phillips County, Montana - west
  • Garfield County, Montana - south
  • McCone County, Montana - south
  • Roosevelt County, Montana - east
  • Daniels County, Montana - east
  • Mankota No. 45, Saskatchewan - north
  • Waverley No. 44, Saskatchewan - north
  • Old Post No. 43, Saskatchewan - north


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge