Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Wheatland County, Montana

Wheatland County Education, Geography, and HistoryWheatland County, Montana Courthouse

Wheatland County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 2,168. Its county seat is Harlowton.

Etymology - Origin of Wheatland County Name

The many wheat fields in the county


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Wheatland County History

Wheatland County was created 22 February 1917 from Meagher and Sweet Grass Counties. County seat: Harlowtown

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,428 square miles (3,699 km2), of which, 1,423 square miles (3,686 km2) of it is land and 5 square miles (13 km2) of it (0.36%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Judith Basin County, Montana - north
  • Fergus County, Montana - north
  • Golden Valley County, Montana - east
  • Sweet Grass County, Montana - south
  • Meagher County, Montana - west


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge