Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
New York Counties
New York County map
Click Image to Enlarge
New York Counties
There are 62 counties in the State of New York. The first twelve counties in New York were created immediately after the British annexation of the Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, although two of these counties have since been abolished. The most recent county formation in New York was in 1912, when Bronx County was created from the portions of New York City that had been annexed from Westchester County. New York's counties are named for a variety of Native American words, British provinces, cities, and royalty, early American statesmen and generals, and state politicians.

Montgomery County, New York

Montgomery County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Fonda
Year Organized: 1772
Square Miles: 405
Court House:

P.O. Box 1500
County Office Building
Fonda, NY 12068-1500

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Named in honor of Major General Richard Montgomery, who was killed in the attack on Quebec in 1775


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

This county was formed from Albany, March 12, 1772, under the name of "Tryon Co". Its name was changed April 2, 1784. Ontario was taken off in 1789, Herkimer, Otsego, and Tioga in 1791, Hamilton in 1816, and Fulton in 1838. It lies on both sides of the Mohawk, centrally distant 39 miles from Albany, and contained 436 sq. mi.

The uplands are finely adapted to pasturage, and dairying forms the leading pursuit. Upon the Mohawk Flats immense quantities of broomcorn are raised. There are several important manufactories in the co., consisting chiefly of woolen goods, carpets, paper, agricultural implements, sash and blinds, and castings. Quarrying is extensively carried on. {Stone from these quarries were used in the construction of canal locks and other public works.}

The principal public works are the Erie Canal, extending along the S. side of the Mohawk, and the N. Y. Central R. R., {Formerly "Schenectady & Utica R. R." The Catskill & Canajoharie R. R., Incorp. in 1830, was opened to Cooksburgh from Catskill at a cost of $400,000. In 1842 it was abandoned, the track sold for $11,000 and taken up.} on the N. bank. A wire suspension bridge crosses the Mohawk at Fort Hunter, and wooden bridges at Amsterdam, Fonda, Canajoharie, Fort Plain, and St. Johnsville. An iron bridge was built at Fort Plain, in 1858.

The county seat is located at Fonda, a pleasant village on the Mohawk built on the site of the ancient Dutch settlement of "Caughnawaga." The courthouse is a fine brick edifice, containing the usual co. offices. The jail is a stone building, adjacent to the courthouse. The co. poorhouse is located upon a farm of 150 acres situated in Glen, about 3 mi. E. of Fonda. The building is old and poor, and has few arrangements for the health, comfort, or convenience of its inmates. The average number of inmates is 125. The farm yields a revenue of $1,000. [Extracted from "Gazetteer of the State of New York", by J. H. French, 1860, the section on Herkimer County.

Tryon County, as Montgomery County was originally known, was set off from Albany County in 1772 on the petition of Sir William Johnson and named Tryon in honor of his friend, the Colonial Governor William Tryon. Johnstown was set up as the county seat. After the close of the Revolutionary War, the name of the county was changed to Montgomery in honor of General Richard Montgomery. All the land south of Oneida Lake and west of Utica to the present city of Buffalo was named Whitestown, in honor of early pioneer Hugh White, and was added to Montgomery County. Full History at NYSAC


Montgomery County is located in the central part of the state, west of the city of Schenectady and northwest of Albany.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 410 square miles (1,063 kmē), of which, 405 square miles (1,048 kmē) of it is land and 6 square miles (14 kmē) of it (1.34%) is water.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Fulton County, New York - north
  • Saratoga County, New York - east
  • Schenectady County, New York - east
  • Schoharie County, New York - south
  • Otsego County, New York - southwest
  • Herkimer County, New York - west

Cities and Towns:

- Ames village Incorporated Area
- Amsterdam city Incorporated Area
- Canajoharie village Incorporated Area
- Charleston town
- Ephratah town
- Esperance village Incorporated Area
- Fonda (County Seat) village Incorporated Area
- Fort Johnson village Incorporated Area
- Fort Plain village Incorporated Area
- Fultonville village Incorporated Area
- Glen town
- Hagaman village Incorporated Area
- Minden town
- Nelliston village Incorporated Area
- Palatine town
- Palatine Bridge village Incorporated Area
- Perth town
- Root town
- St. Johnsville village Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"