Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Minnesota Counties

There are eighty-seven Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Cass County, Minnesota

Cass County Education, Geography, and HistoryCass County, Minnesota Courthouse

Cass County is a county located in the state of Minnesota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 28,567. Its county seat is Walker. The county was formed in 1851 and organized in 1897.

Cass County is included in the Brainerd, MN Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Cass County Name

Named for Lewis Cass. Explored upper Mississippi to Cass Lake in 1820; governor, Michigan Territory, 1813-31; US Secretary of War, 1831-36; US Senator from Michigan 1945-57; US Secretary of State, 1857-60.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Cass County History

Cass County was created on September 1, 1851 by the legislature of the Minnesota Territory. It was not formally organized until 1897. Cass County was formed from portions of Dakota, Mahkatah, Pembina and Wahnata Counties. The county was named in honor of Lewis Cass. In turn, before formal organization, land from Cass County was split off to form other of the surrounding counties.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,414 square miles (6,250 km2), of which 2,022 square miles (5,240 km2) is land and 393 square miles (1,020 km2) (16%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Itasca County (northeast)
  • Aitkin County (southeast)
  • Crow Wing County (southeast)
  • Morrison County (south)
  • Todd County (southwest)
  • Wadena County (west)
  • Hubbard County (west)
  • Beltrami County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge