New Jersey Counties
New Jersey County map
Click Image to Enlarge

New Jersey Counties

New Jersey has twenty-one counties. New Jersey's first counties were created as administrative districts within each province, with East Jersey split in 1675 into Bergen, Essex, Middlesex and Monmouth counties, while West Jersey's initial counties of Burlington and Salem date to 1681. The most recent county created in New Jersey was Union County, created in 1857.

New Jersey Counties: History and Information

Find a brief history of New Jersey CountiesBrief history of New Jersey Counties: Flags of Our Nation

There are twenty-one (21) counties in the state of New Jersey. These New Jersey counties together contain 565 municipalities, or administrative entities composed of clearly defined territory; 250 boroughs, 52 cities, 15 towns, 244 townships, and 4 villages.

In New Jersey, a county is a local level of government between the state and municipalities. County government in New Jersey includes a Board of Chosen Freeholders, sheriff, clerk, and surrogate (responsible for uncontested and routine probate), all of which are elected officials. Counties organized under the Optional County Charter Law may also have an elected county executive. Counties traditionally perform state-mandated duties such as the maintenance of jails, parks, and certain roads. The site of a county's administration and courts is called the county seat.

Find a brief history of New Jersey Counties
County 2000
County Seat Created
Atlantic County 252,552 561 Mays Landing 1837
Bergen County 884,118 234 Hackensack 1683
Burlington County 423,394 805 Mount Holly 1694
Camden County 508,932 222 Camden 1844
Cape May County 102,326 255 Cape May Court House 1692
Cumberland County 146,438 489 Bridgeton 1748
Essex County 793,633 126 Newark 1683
Gloucester County 254,673 325 Woodbury 1686
Hudson County 608,975 47 Jersey City 1840
Hunterdon County 121,989 430 Flemington 1714
Mercer County 350,761 226 Trenton 1838
Middlesex County 750,162 311 New Brunswick 1683
Monmouth County 615,301 472 Freehold 1683
Morris County 470,212 469 Morristown 1739
Ocean County 510,916 636 Toms River 1850
Passaic County 489,049 185 Paterson 1837
Salem County 64,285 338 Salem 1694
Somerset County 297,490 305 Somerville 1688
Sussex County 144,166 521 Newton 1753
Union County 522,541 103 Elizabeth 1857
Warren County 102,437 358 Belvidere 1824

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge