Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Connecticut Counties
Connecticut County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Connecticut Counties
There arecurrently eight Counties in the U.S. state of Connecticut. Four of them were originally created in 1666, during the first consolidation of the colony of Connecticut from a number of smaller colonies. Two more Counties were created during colonial times, and only two counties, Middlesex and Tolland counties, have been created since American independence, both in 1785. The majority of Connecticut Counties are named for locations in England, where many early Connecticut settlers originated

Connecticut is divided into geographic regions called counties, but they do not have functioning governments, as defined by the Census Bureau

Fairfield County, Connecticut

Fairfield County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Bridgeport
Year Organized: 1666
Square Miles: 626
Court House:

1061 Main Street
Bridgeport, CT 06604-4222

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Named after the extremely large area of salt-marshes and swamps both on the coast and inland.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Fairfield County is located in the southwest corner of the State of Connecticut, bordered on the west by New York state, on the east by New Haven County, and to the northeast by Litchfield County. The Fairfield County shoreline is protected from the Atlantic Ocean and bordered on the south by Long Island Sound. The total area covered by Fairfield County is 626 square miles.


The history of Fairfield, Fairfield County, Connecticut, from the settlement of the town in 1639 to 1818 (1889)


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 837 square miles (2,168 kmē), of which, 626 square miles (1,621 kmē) of it is land and 211 square miles (547 kmē) of it (25.23%) is water.

Neighboring Counties:

  • North: Litchfield County
  • Northeast: New Haven County
  • Southeast: Long Island Sound
  • West: Westchester County, N.Y.
  • Northwest: Putnam County, N.Y.; Dutchess County, N.Y.

Cities and Towns:

- Bethel town
- Bridgeport (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Brookfield town
- Danbury city Incorporated Area
- Darien town
- Easton town
- Fairfield town
- Greenwich town
- Monroe town
- New Canaan town
- New Fairfield town
- Newtown borough Incorporated Area
- Norwalk city Incorporated Area
- Redding town
- Ridgefield town
- Shelton city Incorporated Area
- Sherman town
- Stamford city Incorporated Area
- Stratford town
- Trumbull town
- Weston town
- Westport town
- Wilton town

County Resources:

1. Bridgeport Public Library - Historical Collections (Bridgeport CT)
2. Fairfield Historical Society (Fairfield CT)
3. Greenwich Library (Greenwich CT)

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"