Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online College Articles
Campus College Articles
Connecticut Counties
Connecticut County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Connecticut Counties
There arecurrently eight Counties in the U.S. state of Connecticut. Four of them were originally created in 1666, during the first consolidation of the colony of Connecticut from a number of smaller colonies. Two more Counties were created during colonial times, and only two counties, Middlesex and Tolland counties, have been created since American independence, both in 1785. The majority of Connecticut Counties are named for locations in England, where many early Connecticut settlers originated

Connecticut is divided into geographic regions called counties, but they do not have functioning governments, as defined by the Census Bureau

New London County, Connecticut

New London County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: New London
Year Organized: 1666
Square Miles: 666
Court House:

181 Captain's Walk
New London, CT 06320-6302

Etymology - Origin of County Name

After London, UK


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

New London County is located in the southeast corner of Connecticut, bordered on the east by the State of Rhode Island, on the west by Middlesex County, the northwest by Hartford and Tolland Counties, and to the north by Windham County. Connecticut's third county, it is also bordered to the south by Long Island Sound. Connecticut's Thames River also bisects New London County from north to south and has played an important role in the development of the region since colonial times. The total land area covered by New London County is 666 square miles.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Northeast: Windham County; Kent County, R.I.
  • East: Washington County, R.I.
  • South: Long Island Sound
  • West: Middlesex County
  • Northwest: Hartford County; Tolland County

Cities and Towns:

- Bozrah town
- Colchester town
- East Lyme town
- Franklin town
- Griswold town
- Groton city Incorporated Area
- Groton Long Point borough Incorporated Area
- Jewett City borough Incorporated Area
- Lebanon town
- Ledyard town
- Lisbon town
- Lyme town
- Montville town
- New London (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- North Stonington town
- Norwich city Incorporated Area
- Old Lyme town
- Preston town
- Salem town
- Sprague town
- Stonington borough Incorporated Area
- Voluntown town
- Waterford town

County Resources:

1. Mystic Seaport Museum - G.W. Blunt White Library (Mystic CT)
2. Otis Library (Norwich CT)
3. Mashantucket Pequot Museum & Research Center

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"