Connecticut Counties
Connecticut County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Connecticut Counties

There are currently eight Counties in Connecticut. Four of them were originally created in 1666, during the first consolidation of the colony of Connecticut.  Middlesex and Tolland counties, have been created since American independence, both in 1785.

Windham County, Connecticut

Windham County Education, Geography, and HistoryWindham County, Connecticut Courthouse

Windham County is a county located in the northeastern corner of the state of Connecticut. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 118,428, making it the least populous county in Connecticut. Windham County was created on May 12, 1726 and was formed from New London County.  The County Seat was Windham (1726-1819), Brooklyn (1819-1895), Willimantic and Putnam (1895-1960). The county is named after Windham in Sussex, England.

Windham County is included in the Worcester, MA-CT Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Boston-Worcester-Providence, MA-RI-NH-CT Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Windham County Name

The county was named after Windham in Sussex, England.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Windham County History

In May 1749, the town of Woodstock, formerly New Roxbury, Worcester County Massachusetts, was unilaterally annexed by Connecticut and assigned to Windham County. In 1785, the town of Union (incorporated in 1734) was transferred to the newly formed Tolland County. Over the next century, Windham County would lose several towns to Tolland and New London counties: Coventry to Tolland in 1786, Lebanon to New London in 1824, Columbia and Mansfield to Tolland in 1827, and Voluntown to New London in 1881. The final boundary adjustment occurred on April 7, 1885, when the boundary dispute between the towns of Windham and Mansfield was resolved.

Geography: Land and Water

Windham County is located in the northeast corner of the State of Connecticut, bordered on the east by Rhode Island, to the north by Massachusetts, on the west by Tolland County, and to the south by New London County. Connecticut's fifth established county, it is the least populous. The total land area covered by Windham County is 513 square miles.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Worcester County, Mass.
  • East: Providence County, R.I.
  • Southeast: Kent County, R.I.
  • Southwest: New London County
  • West: Tolland County


Connecticut Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge