Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Idaho Counties
There are44 Counties in Idaho.
Counties are the largest political divisions within the state.

When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state 27 years later, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former Counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many Counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Benewah County, Idaho

Benewah County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Saint Maries
Year Organized: 1915
Square Miles: 776
Court House:

701 College Ave
County Courthouse
Saint Maries, ID 83861-1852

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Benewah County is named for a Coeur d'Alene Native American leader.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Established January 23, 1915, with its county seat at St. Maries, by an act of the state legislature from the southern part of Kootenai County. Named for a Coeur d'Alene Indian chief. Some settlement began after the completion of the Mullan Road in 1860, but most settlers came to the area after the discovery of gold near St. Maries in 1880.

Neighboring Counties:

  • North: Kootenai County
  • East: Shoshone County
  • South: Latah County
  • Southwest: Whitman County, Wash.
  • Northwest: Spokane County, Wash.

Cities and Towns:

- Plummer city Incorporated Area
- St. Maries (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Tensed city Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"