Colleges Search

Have you begun your college search? Find a college that's right for you. Acess over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US.

Begin Now!

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Idaho Counties

There are44 Counties in Idaho.
Counties are the largest political divisions within the state.

When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state 27 years later, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former Counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many Counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.
Search & Apply to New Jobs *

Boise County, Idaho

Boise County Education, Geography, and HistoryBoise County, Idaho Courthouse

Boise County is a rural mountain county in the state of Idaho. As of the 2010 census, the population was 7,028. The county seat is Idaho City, and Horseshoe Bend is its largest city.

Boise County is part of the Boise, ID Metropolitan Statistical Area.

The Bogus Basin ski area is in the southwestern part of the county. The county's eastern area contains the central section of the Sawtooth Wilderness, the western part of the Sawtooth National Recreation Area.

Etymology - Origin of Boise County Name

Boise County is named for the Boise River, which empties into the Snake River in western Canyon County. Boisé is French for wooded.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

Boise County History

Established February 4, 1864 with its county seat at Idaho City. Named for the Boise River, which was named by French-Canadian explorers and trappers for the great variety of trees growing along its banks. The Boise Basin, in which Idaho City lies, was one of the richest gold mining districts in the nation after the discovery of gold in 1862. At its peak in the 1860s and 1870s, Idaho City was, for a time, the largest city in the northwest, it was this great influx of people that lead to the establishment of the Idaho Territory.


According to the US Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,907 square miles (4,940 km2), of which 1,899 square miles (4,920 km2) is land and 7.4 square miles (19 km2) (0.4%) is water. The highest point in the county is Thompson Peak at 10,751 feet (3,277 m), on its eastern border in the Sawtooth Wilderness. The county's lowest point is on the Payette River, on its western border with Gem County, at approximately 2,500 feet (762 m).

Neighboring Counties:

  • North: Valley County
  • East: Custer County
  • Southeast: Elmore County
  • Southwest: Ada County
  • West: Gem County


Idaho Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"
Hunting for a new job? Get advice or search over 1.6 million jobs on the largest job site
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..

Find and Compare!

With access to over 8,500 schools to choose from!

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Search Jobs & Employment

Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s):

Enter a City:

Select a State:

Select a Category:

-- Advanced Job Search

-- Search by Company

Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools