Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Idaho Counties
Idaho County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Idaho Counties
There are44 Counties in Idaho.
Counties are the largest political divisions within the state.

When Idaho became a territory in March, 1863, there were four Counties in existence: Boise, Idaho, Nez Perce and Shoshone. By the time Idaho became a state 27 years later, there were 15 counties. The rest of the 44 Counties came into existence during the 30 years after Idaho became a state. Two of the former Counties disappeared during this time. Alturas, which was created in 1864, was later divided into the many Counties now found in central Idaho. Logan County was only in existence for six years, from 1889 to 1895. It was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County and Lincoln County, which was formed just two weeks after Logan lost its identity.

Shoshone County, Idaho

Shoshone County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Wallace
Year Organized: 1864
Square Miles: 2,634
Court House:

700 Bank Street
County Courthouse
Wallace, ID 83873-2355

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Shoshone County is named for the Shoshone Native American tribe.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Established February 4, 1864 with its county seat at Pierce. In 1885 the county seat was moved to Murray , in 1890 to Osborn, and finally to Wallace in 1893. The first organized unit of government within Idaho boundaries, created and named for the Shoshoni Indians in 1858 by the Washington Territorial Legislature as part of Washington, effective in 1861.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Northeast: Sanders County, Mont.
  • Southeast: Mineral County, Mont.
  • South: Clearwater County
  • Southwest: Latah County
  • West: Benewah County
  • Northwest: Kootenai County; Bonner County

Cities and Towns:

- Kellogg city Incorporated Area
- Mullan city Incorporated Area
- Osburn city Incorporated Area
- Pinehurst city Incorporated Area
- Smelterville city Incorporated Area
- Wallace (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Wardner city Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"