Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Beaverhead County, Montana

Beaverhead County Education, Geography, and HistoryBeaverhead County, Montana Courthouse

Beaverhead County is the largest county by area in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,246. Its county seat is Dillon. The county was founded in 1865.

Much of the perimeter of the county is the Continental Divide, including all of its border with the state of Idaho. The divide heads east into Montana at the county border with Ravalli County, between Lost Trail Pass and Chief Joseph Pass.

Etymology - Origin of Beaverhead County Name

The Beaverhead Rock in the Jefferson River, which is shaped like a beaver's head


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Beaverhead County History

Beaverhead County was created 2 February 1865 as an original county. County seat: Dillon

Beaverhead County, in the Southwestern corner of the state, was organized as one of the original territorial counties on February 2, 1865. It was named for the rock which Sacajawea pointed out to Lewis and Clark explaining that her people had called it that because it resembled a beaver's head . It was one of the smallest of the original counties, but is now one of the largest. Beaverhead County maintained its original area throughout all the county dividing and the only change in its borders was made by an annexation of a part of Madison County in 1911. It contains Montana's oldest town, Bannack City, where a post office was established in November 1863. Dillon is the county seat.

From Names on the Faces of Montana
by Roberta Carkeek Cheney
Copyright 1983 Revised 1984
6th printing, January 1996

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 5,572 square miles (14,432 km2), of which, 5,542 square miles (14,355 km2) of it is land and 30 square miles (77 km2) of it (0.53%) is water.

Beaverhead County is the largest county by area in the state of Montana, located in the southwest corner of Montana and surrounded on three sides by the Continental Divide, is the largest county in Montana. It's land area consists of deep basins separated by towering mountain ranges.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Ravalli County, Montana - northwest
  • Deer Lodge County, Montana - north
  • Silver Bow County, Montana - north
  • Madison County, Montana - east
  • Fremont County, Idaho - southeast
  • Clark County, Idaho - south
  • Lemhi County, Idaho - west


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge