Colleges Search

Have you begun your college search? Find a college that's right for you. Acess over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US.

Begin Now!

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are 56 Counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties—Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Search & Apply to New Jobs *

Big Horn County, Montana

Big Horn County Education, Geography, and History

County Seat: Hardin
Year Organized: 1913
Square Miles: 4,995
Court House:

121 W 3rd Street, PO Box 908
County Courthouse
Hardin, MT 59034-1905

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Bighorn sheep in the area


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Big Horn County was created 13 January 1913 from Rosebud and Yellowstone Counties.


According to the US Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 5,015 square miles (12,988 km2), of which, 4,995 square miles (12,936 km2) of it is land and 20 square miles (51 km2) of it (0.40%) is water. Most of the county's land area comprises Indian reservations: The Crow Indian Reservation covers 64.2 percent of its area, while the Northern Cheyenne Indian Reservation covers another 6.37 percent.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Carbon County, Montana - west
  • Yellowstone County, Montana - northwest
  • Treasure County, Montana - north
  • Rosebud County, Montana - northeast
  • Powder River County, Montana - east
  • Sheridan County, Wyoming - south
  • Big Horn County, Wyoming - southwest


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"
Hunting for a new job? Get advice or search over 1.6 million jobs on the largest job site
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..

Find and Compare!

With access to over 8,500 schools to choose from!

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Search Jobs & Employment

Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s):

Enter a City:

Select a State:

Select a Category:

-- Advanced Job Search

-- Search by Company

Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools