Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Broadwater County, Montana

Broadwater County Education, Geography, and HistoryBroadwater County, Montana Courthouse

Broadwater County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 5,612. Its county seat is Townsend. The county was named for Charles Arthur Broadwater, a noted Montana railroad, real estate, and banking magnate

Etymology - Origin of Broadwater County Name

Charles A. Broadwater, a pioneer in the area and colonel in the United States Army


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Broadwater County History

Broadwater County was created 9 February 1897 from Jefferson and Meagher Counties. County seat: Townsend

The Lewis and Clark Expedition travelled through what is now Broadwater County as they traced the Missouri River. Gold was discovered in the Big Belt Mountains in 1864 which brought several mining towns. In 1881 the Northern Pacific Railway with a stop in what is now Townsend.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,239 square miles (3,209 km2), of which, 1,191 square miles (3,086 km2) of it is land and 48 square miles (123 km2) of it (3.84%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Meagher County, Montana - north & east
  • Gallatin County, Montana - south
  • Jefferson County, Montana - west
  • Lewis and Clark County, Montana - northwest


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge