Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Silver Bow County, Montana

Silver Bow County Education, Geography, and HistorySilver Bow County, Montana Courthouse

Silver Bow County is a county located in the State of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 34,200. Its county seat is Butte. In 1977, the city and county governments consolidated to form the single entity of Butte-Silver Bow. Additionally, the town of Walkerville is a separate municipality from Butte and is located within the county.

Silver Bow County comprises the Butte-Silver Bow, MT Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Silver Bow County Name

Silver Bow Creek. There are multiple theories explaining how the creek got its name


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Silver Bow County History

Silver Bow County was created 16 February 1881 from Deer Lodge County. County seat: Butte

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 719 square miles (1,862 km2), of which, 718 square miles (1,860 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (2 km2) of it (0.09%) is water. In area, it is the smallest county in Montana.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Deer Lodge County, Montana - northwest & west
  • Jefferson County, Montana - east
  • Madison County, Montana - south
  • Beaverhead County, Montana - southwest


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge