Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Carter County, Montana

Carter County Education, Geography, and HistoryCarter County, Montana Courthouse

Carter County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 1,160, making it the fifth-least populous county in Montana. The county seat is Ekalaka

Etymology - Origin of Carter County Name

Thomas Henry Carter, US Senator from Montana


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Carter County History

Carter County was created 22 February 1917 from Custer County. County seat: Ekalaka

Carter County was named in honor of United States Senator, Thomas Carter. The county was created by an act of the Montana State Legislature on February 22, 1917, and was opened for business May 18, 1917 with Ekalaka as the county seat. What is now the Farmers Union Oil Company building was an old school building and also used as the courthouse. In 1920 the new courthouse building was built and is still in use to this very day. The total population back in 1920 was 2,972.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 3,348 square miles (8,672 km2), of which, 3,340 square miles (8,649 km2) of it is land and 9 square miles (23 km2) of it (0.26%) is water.

Ekalaka is located in the Southeastern corner of Montana and is 3,313 square miles. Farming and ranching are the principle industries

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Powder River County, Montana - west
  • Custer County, Montana - northwest
  • Fallon County, Montana - north
  • Harding County, South Dakota - east
  • Butte County, South Dakota - southeast
  • Crook County, Wyoming - south


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge