Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Dawson County, Montana

Dawson County Education, Geography, and HistoryDawson County, Montana Courthouse

Dawson County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 8,966. Its county seat is Glendive

Etymology - Origin of Dawson County Name

The namesake of the county is Major Andrew Dawson, manager of the Fort Benton Trading Post for the American Fur Company from 1856 to 1864.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Dawson County History

Dawson County was created 15 January 1869 as an original county. County seat: Glendive. Named for Andrew Dawson, a trapping official and major in the United States Army

Parts of Dawson County were taken to form Valley County in 1893, Richland County and part of Wibaux County in 1914, part of Prairie County in 1915, and Garfield County and part of McCone County in 1919

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,383 square miles (6,172 km2), of which, 2,373 square miles (6,146 km2) of it is land and 10 square miles (26 km2) of it (0.42%) is water

Dawson County is located in the extreme eastern portion of Montana, about fifteen to twenty miles west of the Dakota line.

Dawson County contains part of Montana's badlands. Makoshika State Park is a great example of the unusual rock formations. Yellowstone River runs through the county.

The principal sources of the water supply in Dawson County are the Yellowstone River, which bisects the southeastern half of the county, and the Redwater River, which flows through its extreme northwest townships. Numerous large and small creeks are tributary to these streams, furnishing abundant and accessible facilities not only for watering livestock, but also for small individual irrigation enterprises, and water conservation projects. In the upper bench lands, artesian well irrigation has received considerable attention.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Richland County, Montana - north
  • Wibaux County, Montana - east
  • Prairie County, Montana - south
  • McCone County, Montana - west


Dawson Community College is located in Glendive

Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge