Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Fallon County, Montana

Fallon County Education, Geography, and HistoryFallon County, Montana Courthouse

Fallon County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 2,890. Its county seat is Baker. The county was created in 1913 after being carved out of Custer County. The name comes from Benjamin O'Fallon, a nephew of Captain William Clark and an Indian agent for the upper Missouri region from 1823 to 1827

Etymology - Origin of Fallon County Name

Benjamin O'Fallon, a Federal Native American agent


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Fallon County History

All of SoutheasterFallon County was created 9 December 1913 from Custer County. County seat: Baker

n Montana was Custer County in those early days. In 1913, effort was being made to have the large counties broken into smaller units. The fight was hot and heavy with rallies in every precinct featuring free dances where liquor flowed freely. Each proposed county attempted to get the largest possible area. Wibaux to the north was the roughest competitor in that respect, but Ekalaka was Baker's rival for the county seat of this southeast section. Ekalaka won, but the following year, on re-election, Baker became the seat of Fallon County. In 1917, Ekalaka pulled away and formed its own county of Carter.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,623 square miles (4,204 km2), of which, 1,620 square miles (4,197 km2) of it is land and 3 square miles (7 km2) of it (0.17%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Wibaux County, Montana - north
  • Prairie County, Montana - northwest
  • Custer County, Montana - west
  • Carter County, Montana - south
  • Harding County, South Dakota - southeast
  • Bowman County, North Dakota - east
  • Slope County, North Dakota - east
  • Golden Valley, North Dakota - northeast


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge