Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Garfield County, Montana

Garfield County Education, Geography, and HistoryGarfield County, Montana Courthouse

Garfield County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 1,206. Its county seat is Jordan.

Etymology - Origin of Garfield County Name

Probably James A. Garfield, the twentieth President of the United States


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Garfield County History

Garfield County was created 7 February 1919 from Dawson County. County seat: Jordan

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 4,848 square miles (12,555 km2), of which, 4,668 square miles (12,090 km2) of it is land and 179 square miles (465 km2) of it (3.70%) is water. Its average population density of 0.1058 inhabitants/km2 (0.274/sq mi) is the third-lowest of any county outside of Alaska (behind Loving County, Texas and Esmeralda County, Nevada).

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Phillips County, Montana - northwest
  • Valley County, Montana - north
  • McCone County, Montana - east
  • Prairie County, Montana - east
  • Custer County, Montana - southeast
  • Rosebud County, Montana - south
  • Petroleum County, Montana - west


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge