Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Granite County, Montana

Granite County Education, Geography, and HistoryGranite County, Montana Courthouse

Granite County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 3,079. Its county seat is Philipsburg. The county was founded in 1893 and named for a mountain which contains the Granite Mountain silver mine

Etymology - Origin of Granite County Name

Granite Peak, the highest point in Montana which also contained a silver mine named "Granite"


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Granite County History

Granite County was created 2 March 1893 from Deer Lodge County. County seat: Philipsburg

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,733 square miles (4,489 km2), of which, 1,727 square miles (4,474 km2) of it is land and 6 square miles (15 km2) of it (0.33%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Missoula County, Montana - north
  • Powell County, Montana - east
  • Deer Lodge County, Montana - south
  • Ravalli County, Montana - west


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge