Career College Search

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Have you begun your college search? Find a college that's right for you. Acess over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US.

Begin Now!

Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Hill County, Montana

Hill County Education, Geography, and HistoryHill County, Montana Courthouse

Hill County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 16,096. Its county seat is Havre. It is south from the Canadian borders of Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Etymology - Origin of Hill County Name

The county is named after James J. Hill, president of the Great Northern Railway Company, which built the rail line across Montana as part of the Transcontinental Railroad to the Pacific coast.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

Hill County History

Hill County was created 28 February 1912 from Chouteau County. County seat: Havre

The first non-Native American settlement was Fort Assinniboine in 1875. Fifteen of the original 104 structures from the fort are still standing. The county is named after James J. Hill.

Geography: Land and Water

Hill County is on the "Hi-Line" in North-Central Montana. It borders Blaine County to the East, Liberty County to the West, Chouteau County to the South, and Canada to the North. Highway 2 runs through Hill County.

Hill County contains Beaver Creek park, which is the largest county park in the Nation.

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,916 square miles (7,553 km2), of which, 2,896 square miles (7,502 km2) of it is land and 20 square miles (51 km2) of it (0.68%) is water.

It is one of the few locations in the United States to have an antipodal point on land, and its community of Rudyard is the only populated such place. The Kerguelen Islands are on the opposite side of the earth from parts of Hill County, while the antipodal points of almost all other places in the United States lie in the Indian Ocean.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Liberty County, Montana - west
  • Chouteau County, Montana - south
  • Blaine County, Montana - east
  • Cypress County, Alberta - north
  • Reno No. 51, Saskatchewan - north


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"
Hunting for a new job? Get advice or search over 1.6 million jobs on the largest job site
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..

Find and Compare!

With access to over 8,500 schools to choose from!
Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Support for eReferenceDesk
More information at
Support eReferenceDesk

Please click the "DONATE" button and enter the amount you wish to contribute: