Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Judith Basin County, Montana

Judith Basin County Education, Geography, and HistoryJudith Basin County, Montana Courthouse

Judith Basin County is a county in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 2,072. Its county seat is Stanford, Montana

Etymology - Origin of Judith Basin County Name

The Judith River which was in turn named by William Clark for Julia "Judith" Hancock, whom he would later marry


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

 Judith Basin County History

Judith Basin County was created 10 December 1920 from Fergus and Cascade Counties. County seat: Stanford

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,871 square miles (4,845 km2), of which, 1,870 square miles (4,843 km2) of it is land and 1 square miles (2 km2) of it (0.05%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Chouteau County, Montana - north
  • Fergus County, Montana - east
  • Wheatland County, Montana - south
  • Meagher County, Montana - south
  • Cascade County, Montana - west


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge