Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Lake County, Montana

Lake County Education, Geography, and HistoryLake County, Montana Courthouse

Lake County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 28,746. Its county seat is Polson

Etymology - Origin of Lake County Name

Flathead Lake


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lake County History

Lake County was created 11 May 1923 from Flathead and Missoula Counties. County seat: Polson

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,654 square miles (4,283 km2), of which, 1,494 square miles (3,869 km2) of it is land and 160 square miles (414 km2) of it (9.67%) is water. Over two-thirds (67.7%) of the county's land lies within the Flathead Indian Reservation.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Flathead County, Montana - north & east
  • Missoula County, Montana - east & south
  • Sanders County, Montana - west


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge