Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Lewis And Clark County, Montana

Lewis And Clark County Education, Geography, and HistoryLewis And Clark County, Montana Courthouse

Lewis and Clark County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 63,395. Its county seat is Helena, the state capital. The numerical designation for Lewis and Clark County (used in the issuance of the state's license plates) is 5. The county was established in 1865 as Edgerton County, and was renamed "Lewis and Clark County" two years later. The present name was given in honor of explorers Lewis and Clark.

Lewis and Clark County is part of the Helena, MT Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Lewis And Clark County Name

Meriwether Lewis and William Clark, the famous explorers


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lewis And Clark County History

Lewis & Clark County was created 2 February 1865 as an original county. County seat: Helena

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 3,498 square miles (9,059 km2), of which, 3,461 square miles (8,964 km2) of it is land and 37 square miles (95 km2) of it (1.05%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Teton County, Montana - north
  • Cascade County, Montana - east
  • Meagher County, Montana - east
  • Broadwater County, Montana - southeast
  • Jefferson County, Montana - south
  • Powell County, Montana - west
  • Flathead County, Montana - northwest


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge