Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Liberty County, Montana

Liberty County Education, Geography, and HistoryLiberty County, Montana Courthouse

Liberty County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 2,339. Its county seat is Chester. The county was established in 1919

Etymology - Origin of Liberty County Name

The sentiment of the inhabitants when the county was formed soon after World War I


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Liberty County History

Liberty County was created 11 February 1920 from Chouteau and Hill Counties. County seat: Chester

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,447 square miles (3,748 km2), of which, 1,430 square miles (3,703 km2) of it is land and 17 square miles (45 km2) of it (1.21%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Toole County, Montana - west
  • Pondera County, Montana - southwest
  • Chouteau County, Montana - south
  • Hill County, Montana - east
  • Forty Mile County No. 8, Alberta - north


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge