Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Madison County, Montana

Madison County Education, Geography, and HistoryMadison County, Montana Courthouse

Madison County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 7,691. Its county seat is Virginia City. The county was founded in 1865.

Etymology - Origin of Madison County Name

James Madison, the fourth President of the United States and the Secretary of State at the time of the Lewis and Clark Expedition


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Madison County History

Madison County was created 2 February 1865 as an original county. County seat: Virginia City

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 3,603 square miles (9,331 km2), of which, 3,587 square miles (9,289 km2) of it is land and 16 square miles (42 km2) of it (0.45%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Beaverhead County, Montana - southwest, west
  • Silver Bow County, Montana - northwest
  • Jefferson County, Montana - north
  • Gallatin County, Montana - east
  • Fremont County, Idaho - south


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge