Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

McCone County, Montana

McCone County Education, Geography, and HistoryMcCone County, Montana Courthouse

McCone County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 1,734. Its county seat is Circle. It was named in honor of State Senator George McCone

Etymology - Origin of McCone County Name

George McCone, a Montana state senator who helped create the county


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

McCone County History

McCone County was created 20 February 1919 from Dawson and Richland Counties. County seat: Circle

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,683 square miles (6,948 km2), of which, 2,643 square miles (6,844 km2) of it is land and 40 square miles (104 km2) of it (1.50%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Valley County, Montana - north
  • Roosevelt County, Montana - north
  • Richland County, Montana - northeast
  • Dawson County, Montana - east
  • Prairie County, Montana - south
  • Garfield County, Montana - west


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge