Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Mineral County, Montana

Mineral County Education, Geography, and HistoryMineral County, Montana Courthouse

Mineral County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 4,223. Its county seat is Superior.

Etymology - Origin of Mineral County Name

Many mines and mining prospects within the county


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Mineral County History

Mineral County was created 7 August 1914 from Missoula County. County seat: Superior

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,223 square miles (3,169 km2), of which, 1,220 square miles (3,159 km2) of it is land and 4 square miles (9 km2) of it (0.29%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Sanders County, Montana - north
  • Missoula County, Montana - east
  • Clearwater County, Idaho - south
  • Shoshone County, Idaho - northwest


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge