Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Musselshell County, Montana

Musselshell County Education, Geography, and HistoryMusselshell County, Montana Courthouse

Musselshell County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 4,538. Its county seat is Roundup

Etymology - Origin of County Name

The Musselshell River, named in turn by the Lewis and Clark Expedition presumably due to mussels found on its banks


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Musselshell County History

Musselshell County was created 11 February 1911 from Fergus and Yellowstone Counties. County seat: Roundup

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,871 square miles (4,846 km2), of which, 1,867 square miles (4,836 km2) of it is land and 4 square miles (10 km2) of it is water. The total area is 0.20% water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Fergus County, Montana - northwest
  • Petroleum County, Montana - north
  • Rosebud County, Montana - east
  • Yellowstone County, Montana - south
  • Golden Valley County, Montana - west


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge