Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Park County, Montana

Park County Education, Geography, and HistoryPark County, Montana Courthouse

Park County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 15,636. Its county seat is Livingston. A small part of Yellowstone National Park is located in the extreme southern part of the county.

Etymology - Origin of Park County Name

Nearby Yellowstone National Park


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Park County History

Park County was created 23 February 1887 from Gallatin County. County seat: Livingston. Park County, so named due to its proximity to Yellowstone National Park, was created by the territorial legislature February 23, 1887. Scout Jim Bridger wintered in the area in 1844-45.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,814 square miles (7,287 km2), of which, 2,802 square miles (7,258 km2) of it is land and 11 square miles (29 km2) of it (0.40%) is water. The county attained its present boundaries on November 7, 1997, when the former Yellowstone National Park (part) county-equivalent was dissolved and apportioned between Gallatin County and Park County. Gallatin County received 99.155 square miles (256.81 km2) of land area and 0.119 square miles (0.309 km2) of water area, whereas Park County received 146.229 square miles (378.73 km2) of land area and 0.608 square miles (1.575 km2) of water area. The geographies transferred are known now as Census Tract 14 in Gallatin County, and as Census Tract 6 in Park County.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Gallatin County, Montana - west
  • Meagher County, Montana - north
  • Sweet Grass County, Montana - east
  • Stillwater County, Montana - east
  • Carbon County, Montana - east
  • Park County, Wyoming - south

Park Counties in Montana and Wyoming are among the very few pairs of counties in the United States with the same name to border each other across state lines.


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge