Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Pondera County, Montana

Pondera County Education, Geography, and HistoryPondera County, Montana Courthouse

Pondera County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 6,153. Its county seat is Conrad.

Etymology - Origin of Pondera County Name

Originally pend d'oreille, French words meaning "ear pendant"; the name was changed to a form resembling the phonetic spelling to avoid confusion with the lake and town of that name in Idaho


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Pondera County History

The Montana legislature created Pondera County 17 February 1919 from Chouteau and Teton Counties with Conrad as the county seat. Local lore suggests that Pondera is either the phonetic spelling of the French word "Pend d'Oreille" meaning hanging earring or "pain d'or"meaning golden bread for the color of the native grasses in the area. Wheat production remains the main industry for the county.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,640 square miles (4,247 km2), of which, 1,625 square miles (4,208 km2) of it is land and 15 square miles (39 km2) of it (0.92%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Glacier County, Montana - north
  • Toole County, Montana - north
  • Liberty County, Montana - east
  • Chouteau County, Montana - east
  • Teton County, Montana - south
  • Flathead County, Montana - west


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge