Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Prairie County, Montana

Prairie County Education, Geography, and HistoryPrairie County, Montana Courthouse

Prairie County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 1,179. Its county seat is Terry. Prairie County was created by the Montana Legislature in 1915 out of parts of Custer, Dawson, and Fallon Counties. The name was selected in a contest and reflects the predominant landscape of the region

Etymology - Origin of Prairie County Name

The county's location on the Great Plains


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Prairie County History

Prairie County was created 5 February 1915 from Custer County. County seat: Terry

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,743 square miles (4,513 km2), of which, 1,737 square miles (4,498 km2) of it is land and 6 square miles (16 km2) of it (0.34%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • McCone County, Montana - north
  • Dawson County, Montana - north
  • Wibaux County, Montana - east
  • Fallon County, Montana - southeast
  • Custer County, Montana - south
  • Garfield County, Montana - west


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge