Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Richland County, Montana

Richland County Education, Geography, and HistoryRichland County, Montana Courthouse

Richland County is a county located in the State of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,746. Its county seat is Sidney. Richland County was created 27 May 1914 from Dawson County. County seat: Sidney

Etymology - Origin of Richland County Name

Named in an attempt to lure in settlers


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Richland County History

Richland County was created by the Montana Legislature in 1914 from part of Dawson County. An early proposed name for the county was Gate, but Richland was decided upon instead as a way to entice new settlers

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,103 square miles (5,447 km2), of which, 2,084 square miles (5,398 km2) of it is land and 19 square miles (49 km2) of it (0.90%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Roosevelt County, Montana - north
  • McCone County, Montana - west
  • Dawson County, Montana - south
  • Wibaux County, Montana - south
  • McKenzie County, North Dakota - east


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge