Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Wibaux County, Montana

Wibaux County Education, Geography, and HistoryWibaux County, Montana Courthouse

Wibaux County is a county located in the state of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 1,017 making it the fourth-least populous county in Montana. Its county seat is Wibaux.

Etymology - Origin of Wibaux County Name

Pierre Wibaux, a pioneer and cattleman


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Wibaux County History

Wibaux County was created 17 August 1914 from Dawson County. County seat: Wibaux

Wibaux County and the town of Wibaux are name after the late 19th century cattle baron, Pierre Wibaux, a friend of Theodore Roosevelt, who was ranching just over the border in Dakota Territory. According to legend, Pierre Wibaux's cowboys surrounded the town of Mingusville, and wouldn't let anyone enter or leave town unless they signed a petition changing the name of the town to Wibaux. Upon his death, his ashes were spread over a hill west of Wibaux. Today, a statue of Pierre Wibaux stands on that hill. St Peter's Catholic Church, in Wibaux is named after him.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Richland County, Montana - north
  • Dawson County, Montana - west
  • Prairie County, Montana - west
  • Fallon County, Montana - south
  • Golden Valley County, North Dakota - east
  • McKenzie County, North Dakota - northeast


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge