Montana Counties
Montana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Montana Counties

There are fifty-six counties in Montana. Montana has two consolidated city-counties- Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County. The portion of Yellowstone National Park that lies within Montana was not part of any county until 1997, when part of it was nominally added to Gallatin County, and the rest of it to Park County.

Yellowstone County, Montana

Yellowstone County Education, Geography, and HistoryYellowstone County, Montana Courthouse

Yellowstone County is a county located in the State of Montana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 147,972, and a 2014 estimate put the population at 155,634. It is the most populous county in Montana. Its county seat is Billings. Yellowstone County is named for the Yellowstone River which roughly bisects the county from southwest to northeast. The river in turn was named after the yellow Sandstone cliffs in what is now Yellowstone County.

Yellowstone County is included in the Billings, MT Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Yellowstone County Name

According to the Montana Almanac, by authors Andrea Merrill and Judy Jacobson. The Yellowstone River, the authors say, was called by early French trappers, Roche Jaune for "yellow rock."


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Yellowstone County History

Yellowstone County was created 26 February 1883 from Gallatin, Meagher, Custer, and Carbon Counties. County seat: Billings

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,649 square miles (6,861 km2), of which, 2,635 square miles (6,825 km2) of it is land and 14 square miles (36 km2) of it (0.52%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Musselshell County, Montana - north
  • Rosebud County, Montana - northeast
  • Treasure County, Montana - east
  • Big Horn County, Montana - south & southeast
  • Carbon County, Montana - southwest
  • Stillwater County, Montana - west
  • Golden Valley County, Montana - northwest


Montana Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge