North Dakota Counties
North Dakota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Dakota Counties

There are fifty-three counties in the state of North Dakota. Pembina County was created by the 1866-1867 Dakota territorial legislature, and was organized on August 12, 1867. The city of Pembina, the oldest European-American settlement in the state, was the county seat from 1867 to 1911. The seat was relocated to Cavalier.

Sargent County, North Dakota

Sargent County Education, Geography, and HistorySargent County, North Dakota Courthouse

Sargent County is a county located in the state of North Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 3,829. Its county seat is Forman. The county was formed in 1883.

Etymology - Origin of Sargent County Name

Named for Homer E. Sargent, general manager of the Northern Pacific Railroad Co. at the time.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Sargent County History

Created by the 1883 territorial legislature and named for Homer E. Sargent, general manager of the Northern Pacific Railroad Co. at the time. Government organized: October 8, 1883. County Seat: Milnor, 1883-1886; Forman, 1886-present.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 867 square miles (2,250 km2), of which 859 square miles (2,220 km2) is land and 8.4 square miles (22 km2) (1.0%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Ransom County (north)
  • Richland County (east)
  • Marshall County, South Dakota (south)
  • Brown County, South Dakota (southwest)
  • Dickey County (west)
  • LaMoure County, North Dakota (northwest)


North Dakota Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge