Louisiana Parishes
Louisiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Louisiana Parishes

Louisiana is divided into sixty-four parishes. On March 31, 1807, the territorial legislature divided the state into 19 parishes, without getting rid of the old counties (which continued to exist until 1845). In 1811, a constitutional convention organized the state into seven judicial districts, each consisting of groups of parishes. In 1816, the first official map of the state used the term, as did the 1845 constitution. Since then, the official term has been parishes.

East Carroll Parish, Louisiana

East Carroll Parish Education, Geography, and HistoryEast Carroll Parish, Louisiana Courthouse

East Carroll Parish is a parish located in the state of Louisiana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 7,759. East Carroll Parish was founded on March 26, 1877. The parish seat is Lake Providence. Carroll Parish is named in honor of Charles Carroll.

Etymology - Origin of East Carroll Parish Name

Carroll Parish was named in honor of Charles Carroll in 1832, a philanthropist, statesman and the last surviving signer of the United States Declaration of Independence.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

East Carroll County History

Carroll Parish was created by an Act was approved on March 14, 1832, out of the northern part of the original Concordia Parish created in 1809 and the eastern part of Ouachita Parish. Carroll Parish was named in honor of Charles Carroll in 1832, a philanthropist, statesman and the last surviving signer of the US Declaration of Independence. Lake Providence was the first seat of government. Carroll Parish was divided into two parishes in 1871. The division solved a feud over the site of the seat of government. Oak Grove was named the parish seat of West Carroll Parish. Bayou Macon formed the boundary between the two parishes. Lake Providence became the parish seat of East Carroll Parish. East Carroll Parish was created on 1877, from Carroll Parish. The Parish seat is Lake Providence.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the parish has a total area of 442 square miles (1,140 km2), of which 421 square miles (1,090 km2) is land and 22 square miles (57 km2) (4.9%) is water.

 East Carroll Parish is located in north Louisiana. The Mississippi River flows through this county.

Neighboring Parishes

Bordering parishes and counties are as follows:

  • North: Chicot County, Ark.
  • East: Issaquena County, Miss.
  • Southeast: Warren County, Miss.
  • South: Madison Parish
  • Southwest: Richland Parish
  • Northwest: West Carroll Parish


Public schools in East Carroll Parish are operated by the East Carroll Parish School Board.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge