Louisiana Parishes
Louisiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Louisiana Parishes

Louisiana is divided into sixty-four parishes. On March 31, 1807, the territorial legislature divided the state into 19 parishes, without getting rid of the old counties (which continued to exist until 1845). In 1811, a constitutional convention organized the state into seven judicial districts, each consisting of groups of parishes. In 1816, the first official map of the state used the term, as did the 1845 constitution. Since then, the official term has been parishes.

Jefferson Davis Parish, Louisiana

Jefferson Davis Parish Education, Geography, and HistoryJefferson Davis Parish, Louisiana Courthouse

Jefferson Davis Parish is a parish located in the state of Louisiana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 31,594. Jefferson Davis Parish was created on 1913. The parish seat is Jennings. Jefferson Davis Parish is named after the president of the Confederacy during the American Civil War, Jefferson Davis.

Etymology - Origin of Jefferson Davis Parish Name

The parish was named in honor of Jefferson Davis, president of the Confederate States of America.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Jefferson Davis County History

Jefferson Davis Parish was created on 1913, from Calcasieu Parish and the parish was named in honor of Jefferson Davis, president of the Confederate States of America. This parish is located in southwestern Louisiana and forms a part of the Acadiana region. The Parish seat is Jennings.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the parish has a total area of 659 square miles (1,710 km2), of which 651 square miles (1,690 km2) is land and 7.2 square miles (19 km2) (1.1%) is water.

Jefferson Davis Parish is located in southwest Louisiana.  The Mermentau River, which joins to the Intracoastal Waterway provides access to the Port of Mermentau. 

Neighboring Parishes

Bordering parishes and counties are as follows:

  • North: Allen Parish
  • Northeast: Evangeline Parish
  • East: Acadia Parish
  • Southeast: Vermilion Parish
  • Southwest: Cameron Parish
  • West: Calcasieu Parish
  • Northwest: Beauregard Parish


Jefferson Davis Parish Public Schools operates public schools in the parish.

Bethel Christian School is a PreK-12 Christian school located in unincorporated Jefferson Davis Parish, near Jennings.

Our Lady Immaculate is a PreK-8 Catholic School located on Roberts Avenue in Jennings. It was founded in 1958.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge