Louisiana Parishes
Louisiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Louisiana Parishes

Louisiana is divided into sixty-four parishes. On March 31, 1807, the territorial legislature divided the state into 19 parishes, without getting rid of the old counties (which continued to exist until 1845). In 1811, a constitutional convention organized the state into seven judicial districts, each consisting of groups of parishes. In 1816, the first official map of the state used the term, as did the 1845 constitution. Since then, the official term has been parishes.

Ouachita Parish, Louisiana

Ouachita Parish Education, Geography, and HistoryOuachita Parish, Louisiana Courthouse

Ouachita Parish is a parish located in the state of Louisiana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 153,720. The parish was formed in 1807. The parish seat is Monroe. The parish is named in honor of the Ouachita Native American people.

Ouachita Parish is part of the Monroe, LA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Ouachita Parish Name

The parish was named in honor of the Ouachita Native American people.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Ouachita County History

Ouachita Parish was created on March 31, 1807. It is one of the 19 parishes, which were created by dividing the Territory of New Orleans. The parish was named in honor of the Ouachita Native American people. The Parish seat is Monroe.

Geography: Land and Water

The Ouachita River separates Monroe from West Monroe near the parish courthouse.

As reported by the Census Bureau, the parish has a total area of 632 square miles (1,640 km2), of which 610 square miles (1,600 km2) is land and 21 square miles (54 km2) (3.4%) is water.

Ouachita Parish is located in north Louisiana. The Black Bayou Lake National Wildlife Refuge and part of the D'Arbonne National Wildlife Refuge are National protected areas located in this parish. The Ouachita River runs through this parish.

Neighboring Parishes

Bordering parishes and counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Morehouse Parish
  • East: Richland Parish
  • South: Caldwell Parish
  • Southwest: Jackson Parish
  • Northwest: Lincoln Parish; Union Parish


Ouachita Parish School Board serves areas outside of the City of Monroe. Monroe City School System serves areas within Monroe. Monroe is also the home of the University of Louisiana at Monroe.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge