Louisiana Parishes
Louisiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Louisiana Parishes

Louisiana is divided into sixty-four parishes. On March 31, 1807, the territorial legislature divided the state into 19 parishes, without getting rid of the old counties (which continued to exist until 1845). In 1811, a constitutional convention organized the state into seven judicial districts, each consisting of groups of parishes. In 1816, the first official map of the state used the term, as did the 1845 constitution. Since then, the official term has been parishes.

St. Helena Parish, Louisiana

St. Helena Parish Education, Geography, and HistorySt. Helena Parish, Louisiana Courthouse

St. Helena Parish is a parish in the state of Louisiana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 11,203. Its seat is Greensburg. The parish was created in 1810.

St. Helena Parish is part of the Baton Rouge, LA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of St. Helena Parish Name

The parish was named in honor of Saint Helena


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

St. Helena County History

St. Helena Parish was created on April 24, 1811, from the County of Feliciana and the parish was named in honor of Saint Helena. The Parish seat is Greensburg.

The parish is one of the eight "Florida Parishes", areas that were once part of colonial West Florida. It was annexed to the Orleans Territory in 1810, after the short-lived Republic of West Florida capitulated to the United States. In 1832, the southern section of the parish was taken to form Livingston Parish; the courthouse was moved to Greensburg, where it remains today. St. Helena lost another portion of land in 1866, which was added to land from Washington and Livingston Parishes in 1868, to form Tangipahoa Parish

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the parish has a total area of 409 square miles (1,060 km2), of which 408 square miles (1,060 km2) is land and 1.1 square miles (2.8 km2) (0.3%) is water

Neighboring Parishes

Bordering parishes and counties are as follows:

  • North: Amite County, Miss.
  • Southeast: Tangipahoa Parish
  • South: Livingston Parish
  • Southwest: East Baton Rouge Parish
  • West: East Feliciana Parish


The Elementary and High School in St. Helena Parish are part of the St. Helena Parish School System. The Middle School in St. Helena Parish is part of the Recovery School District of Louisiana.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge