Louisiana Parishes
Louisiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Louisiana Parishes

Louisiana is divided into sixty-four parishes. On March 31, 1807, the territorial legislature divided the state into 19 parishes, without getting rid of the old counties (which continued to exist until 1845). In 1811, a constitutional convention organized the state into seven judicial districts, each consisting of groups of parishes. In 1816, the first official map of the state used the term, as did the 1845 constitution. Since then, the official term has been parishes.

St. Martin Parish, Louisiana

St. Martin Parish Education, Geography, and HistorySt. Martin Parish, Louisiana Courthouse

St. Martin Parish is a parish located in the state of Louisiana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 52,160. The parish seat is St. Martinville. The parish was founded in 1807.

St. Martin Parish is part of the Lafayette, Louisiana Metropolitan Statistical Area. 27% of the population of St. Martin Parish have French fluency, rated as one of the highest concentrations of French speakers in the nation.

Etymology - Origin of St. Martin Parish Name

The parish was named in honor of Saint Martin.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

St. Martin County History

St. Martin Parish was created on March 31, 1807. It is one of the 19 parishes, which were created by dividing the Territory of New Orleans. The parish was named in honor of Saint Martin. The Parish seat is St Martinsville.

St. Martin Parish Courthouse - 1859

The first courthouse was built by slave labor long before the Civil War, while the present court house was built in 1859 and has had at least five major additions and renovations. It is now a parish landmark.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the parish has a total area of 816 square miles (2,110 km2), of which 738 square miles (1,910 km2) is land and 79 square miles (200 km2) (9.7%) is water. Iberia Parish divides St. Martin Parish into two separate areas, Upper and Lower St. Martin.

Neighboring Parishes

Bordering parishes and counties are as follows:

  • North: Pointe Coupee Parish
  • Northeast: Iberville Parish
  • Southeast: Assumption Parish; St. Mary Parish
  • Southwest: Iberia Parish
  • West: Lafayette Parish
  • Northwest: St. Landry Parish


Public schools in St. Martin Parish are operated by the St. Martin Parish School Board.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge