Louisiana Parishes
Louisiana County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Louisiana Parishes

Louisiana is divided into sixty-four parishes. On March 31, 1807, the territorial legislature divided the state into 19 parishes, without getting rid of the old counties (which continued to exist until 1845). In 1811, a constitutional convention organized the state into seven judicial districts, each consisting of groups of parishes. In 1816, the first official map of the state used the term, as did the 1845 constitution. Since then, the official term has been parishes.

St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana

St. Tammany Parish Education, Geography, and HistorySt. Tammany Parish, Louisiana Courthouse

St. Tammany Parish is a parish located in the state of Louisiana. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 233,740, making it the fifth-most populous parish in Louisiana. The parish seat is Covington. The parish was founded in 1810.

St. Tammany Parish is included in the New Orleans-Metairie, LA Metropolitan Statistical Area. St. Tammany Parish is one of the fastest-growing parishes in the state, along with Livingston and Ascension.

Etymology - Origin of St. Tammany Parish Name

The parish was named in honor of the legendary Indian Chief Tamanend.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

St. Tammany County History

St. Tammany Parish was created on 1810, from St. Helena and Orleans Parishes and the parish was named in honor of the legendary Indian Chief Tamanend. The Parish seat is Covington.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the parish has a total area of 1,124 square miles (2,910 km2), of which 846 square miles (2,190 km2) is land and 279 square miles (720 km2) (25%) is water. It is located to the north of Lake Pontchartrain.

Neighboring Parishes

Bordering parishes and counties are as follows:

  • North: Washington Parish
  • Northeast: Pearl River County, Miss.
  • East: Hancock County, Miss.
  • Southeast: Orleans Parish
  • South: Lake Pontchartrain
  • West: Tangipahoa Parish


St. Tammany Parish Public Schools operates the public schools in the parish. They are consistently rated as among the highest-performing in the state.

The parish is the eponym of Saint Tammany Hall on the campus of Southeastern Louisiana University, in neighboring Tangipahoa Parish.

Covington and Slidell host the North Shore campuses of Delgado Community College.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge